Image - Call

Call

«We Publish» – a joint project of the Department of Design and Art of the Bern University of the Arts and the Department of Art and Design of the University of the Arts Bremen – deals with independent collaborative practices of publishing, duplication, and distribution. The project comprises a collection of independently published works since the 1960s with a focus on Switzerland, lectures on the history of radical publishing, on the problem of exhibiting publications, and a series of events and exhibitions on the subject.

This call aims to open the collection to those who wish to contribute to the history of independent publishing in Switzerland through personal, political, social or artistic publications. 

What do we seek?

Independent serial publication projects since the 1960s with a focus on Switzerland (all printing techniques, websites, mailing lists).

What will happen to them?

As many publications as possible will be digitally reproduced, made publicly accessible and searchable.

The physical publications can be included in the multi-media library at any time or returned at the end of the project.

The Department of Conservation and Restoration of the Bern University of the Arts can ensure the preservation of fragile and valuable publications.

A selection will be shown in an exhibition at the Kunsthalle Bern in December 2019.

How to submit

The publications can be delivered to the Bern University of the Arts, sent to us by e-mail or by post (any high shipping costs incurred can be paid after prior agreement).

Deadline

15 June 2019

Contact

Bern University of the Arts
studio
Lara Kothe
Fellerstrasse 11
CH-3027 Bern

info@wir-publizieren.ch

Image

Image - Exhibition

Exhibition

Based on our collection of independently published works, we would like to develop an exhibition. We are concerned here with the questions of how the increased interest in printed matter in small editions or obscure networks can be identified and how themes, approaches, aesthetics, and attitudes have changed in independent publishing since the 1960s (and why).

Image

Image

We are linking up with the exhibition «Unter dem Radar. Underground- und Selbstpublikationen 1965-1975», which was shown at the Weserburg in Bremen in 2015/16 and for which Spector Books published an extensive publication in 2017. The selection shown in the publication «Unter dem Radar» is international but has a focus on German publications. The publication includes several publications from Switzerland such as «Hotcha!» (Zurich, 1968-2008), «Starkherzpapiere» (Zurich, 1979) and «Whämmli!» (Basel ca. 1971). The exhibition also featured «Experience - Zeitschrift für Musik und anderen Lärm» (Basel 1973-74) and «hapt Schwiiz».

Image

Image

Besides the project «Under the Radar», we are inspired by the exhibition «You’ve Got 1243 Unread Messages. The last generation before the internet?» shown at the Latvian Center for Contemporary Art in 2017/18. It dealt with media in front of the Internet, their materiality, their potential, and their limits. The exhibition showed how artistic, political and personal strategies meet with economic and technical (power) relations in the media. It made it possible to grasp various moments in which specific public spheres were created on this basis. Public spheres are always determined by a confrontation with the power to act and by questions of inclusion and exclusion.

Image

Image - Events

Events

«There is no place for the dissemination of knowledge associated with bookmaking and publishing in context. Art academies teach the design of books; universities of applied sciences teach booksellers how to sell books; German studies teaches how to edit texts. But where is publishing taught?»

Spector Books, Applied Publishing Studies, Sitterwerk, 10.5.2014

We publish
Seminar in History of Visual Communication
Robert Lzicar

We deal with content, form, production, and distribution of historical publications from the collection of «Wir Publizieren.» Students select one of the magazines, research historical data, facts, and connections, develop a question out of their interest, answer it in the form of a story and present it in words and pictures as a contribution to the exhibition in the Kunsthalle Bern at the end of 2019. This process is enriched by inputs and discussions with guests from the project group, experts and contemporary witnesses. The workshop will also contribute to critically rethinking contemporary forms of self-publication and placing them in a broader historical context, thus counteracting creative nostalgia and unreflected appropriation of stylistic elements. 

BKB
Seminar at BA Visual Communication
Spring semester 2019

Image

We publish
Archive visits, guest lectures, discussions
Lucie Kolb

The focus is on the joint, self-organized publication of magazines. Whether in printed or digital form, the publication of periodicals is always a collective work because it combines different competencies such as writing, designing, distributing and publishing. Publishing not only makes something public, but it also forms groups, ties are established, friends and enemies are created. The magazine is therefore not just a place for the reproduction of images and texts, but also a place for the production of social things. From this perspective, the workshop introduces the history of self-publication. With a focus on Bern, we look at various projects that have decided to circulate their content themselves. To this end, we will make excursions and visit the archives of the Kunsthalle Bern and the Swiss National Library, for example, where documents from the nonconformism, Fluxus and anti-psychiatry movements can be found. We sift through cases together, read and discuss - but also talk to people who now publish themselves - and ask about the motivations and visions associated with this practice.

Bern University of the Arts
Y toolbox
15.-18.04.2019

Image

Image

Image - Collection

Collection

The collection now being created at the Bern University of the Arts covers the fields of art, culture, politics and social movements, but is not limited to them. The focus is on projects that are commissioned by artists, in which they create social bonds, connections, and spaces that promote the collective.

The magazines are stored in the media library, digitally reproduced and preserved. However, the task of a collection is not passive, but dynamic. The collection creates context. Assembling does not only mean procuring objects but also maintaining existing links and building new ones, for example between underground publications, magazines by artists, political magazines and post-digital projects. 

Find a preliminary list of our collection here.

Image

Image - People

People

Franziska Bauer

Graphic designer, artist, self-publisher and gender-queer activist. She is part of the multimedia art collective ELAF. Among others, they held a four-part exhibition at Debatterie by thealit/Bremen Nov 2018 with variations on the topic of abjection. They are part of the Dynamic Archive Project launching in Summer 2019. Franziska Bauer is also co-editor, writer and graphic designer of the annual self-published, queer-feminist maga_zine Purple Scare.

Lucie Kolb

An art historian with a doctorate in artistic publishing strategies since the 1960s. She works at the Institut für Experimentelles Design und Medienkulturen Basel in the research project «Institutions as a Way of Life» on the legacy of institutional critique, funded by the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNF). She also publishes regularly on self-publishing, education and art criticism, most recently the monograph «Study, Not Critique» (transversal 2018). She is co-editor of the magazine Brand-New-Life and a member of the Art Commission of the Culture City of Bern.

Lara Kothe

She studied graphic design with a focus on editorial design and typography in Hamburg. In 2016 she published the award-winning book «das Lethe-Kompendium», which has been exhibited several times worldwide. In this book, she acted as editor, author, artist, curator, and graphic artist and devoted herself to publishing as an artistic practice. After stays in Amsterdam and Berlin, she now works in the studio of the Hochschule der Künste Bern in Switzerland. Since 2017, she has also been studying Design Research at the Bern University of the Arts in Master Design, is an Associate Researcher in the research project «Swiss Graphic Design and Typography Revisited» and Researcher in the field of Design History at the Bern University of the Arts. 
www.larakothe.com

Robert Lzicar

Designer, professor, and researcher. He is based at the Bern University of the Arts HKB, where he teaches design history, directs the MA Design course, and coordinates the Research Field Design History. He organised the symposium «Mapping Graphic Design History in Switzerland» (2014), edited a publication of the same name with Davide Fornari (Triest, 2016), and is co-coordinating the research project «Swiss Graphic Design and Typography Revisited,» funded by the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) Sinergia programme (since October 2016).

Tine Melzer

She studied Fine Arts and Philosophy in Amsterdam, received a studio scholarship at the Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten, and earned her doctorate in England. She combines the philosophy of language with visual means and publishes her books. 2004-2009 lecturer at the Gerrit Rietveld Academie Amsterdam, regular exhibitions and publications at home and abroad. Since 2014 lecturer at the Hochschule der Künste Bern (Y Institute, Design, and Art: Fine Arts). www.tinemelzer.eu

Daniela Mirabella

She works as a freelance graphic designer at the Atelier Mirabella-Morganti in Zurich, mainly for clients from the cultural and educational sectors. She teaches in the Department of Design at the Zurich University of the Arts and works there in the Graphic Design Collection of the Museum of Design. She has been studying Design Research at the HKB / MA Design since 2017.

Tania Prill

Since 2001 she was the partner of the studio «Prill Vieceli Cremers», former «Prill&Vieceli» and realized commissions in the cultural sector as well as self-initiated book projects such as «MONEY» (2015) and «Under the Radar – Underground Zines and Self-Publications 1965–1975» (2017). 2018 she has started her studio and collaborated with different artists, designers, and networks. Tania Prill is teaching at universities in Switzerland and abroad. She was a professor of communication design at the Karlsruhe University of Art and Design and since 2010 is a professor of typography at the University of the Arts Bremen where she is in charge of the Archive of Independent Publishing.

Rejane Salzmann

studies at the School of Visual Combinations, MA Studio Integrated Design HfK Bremen

Asli Serbest

develops projects in various media to negotiate the evolving relationship between art, architecture and media society. She founded the collective m-a-u-s-e-r (together with Mona Mahall), which exhibits and publishes internationally. She is editor of Junk Jet (since 2007), an independent magazine for art, architecture, and media. Asli Serbest works as a professor at the HfK Bremen.

Studio Harris Blondman

is the award-winning graphic design studio of Harry Bloch and Joris Landman. The Swiss-Dutch studio combines classic editorial and design knowledge with new media expertise and creative coding and works at the cutting edge of graphic tradition and digital experiment. www.harrisblondman.nl

Andreas Vogel

An art historian with a doctorate in late-absolutist urban planning, curator, critic, text and cultural worker. Activities at various museums, including 1999/2000 as curator of the Kunstverein in Konstanz. From 2001-2015 he worked in different management positions at the F+F School for Art and Media Design in Zurich, from 2011 as its rector. Since 2015 he has been involved in the function of Head of the Department of Design and Art at the HKB Hochschule der Künste Bern. Andreas Vogel was a member of the Art Commission of the City of Zurich from 2006 to 2014, a member of the jury of the Guggenheim Foundation from 2013 to 2018 and has been a member of the Board of Trustees of the Bern Design Foundation since 2016.

Image

Image

Image

Image - Call

Call

«Wir Publizieren» – ein gemeinsames Projekt des Fachbereich Gestaltung und Kunst der Hochschule der Künste Bern und des Department Kunst und Design der Hochschule für Künste Bremen – beschäftigt sich mit unabhängigen kollektiven Praktiken des Herausgebens, des Vervielfältigens und des Verteilens. Das Projekt umfasst eine Sammlung von unabhängig Publiziertem seit den sechziger Jahren mit Schwerpunkt Schweiz, Lehrveranstaltungen zur Geschichte des radikalen Publizierens, zur Problematik des Ausstellens von Publikationen sowie eine Veranstaltungsreihe und Ausstellung zum Thema.

Mit diesem Call soll die Sammlung für diejenigen geöffnet werden, die mit persönlichen, politischen, sozialen oder künstlerischen Publikationen einen Beitrag zur Geschichte unabhängigen Publizierens in der Schweiz leisten möchten. 

Was suchen wir?

Unabhängige serielle Publikationsprojekte seit den 1960er-Jahren mit Schwerpunkt Schweiz (alle Drucktechniken, Webseiten, Mailinglisten).

Was wird damit passieren?

Die Publikationen werden in möglichst grosser Auswahl digital reproduziert, öffentlich zugänglich und findbar gemacht.

Die physischen Publikationen können in die Mediothek durchgehend aufgenommen oder nach Beendigung des Projekts zurückgeschickt werden.

Der Fachbereich Konservierung und Restaurierung der HKB kann den Erhalt fragiler und wertvoller Publikationen sichern.

Eine Auswahl wird im Dezember 2019 in einer Ausstellung in der Kunsthalle Bern gezeigt.

Wie übermitteln?

Die Publikationen können in der Hochschule der Künste vorbeigebracht, uns per Mail oder auf dem Postweg übermittelt werden (anfallende hohe Versandkosten können nach Vorabsprache übernommen werden).

Deadline

15. Juni 2019

Kontakt

Hochschule der Künste Bern
Atelier
Lara Kothe
Fellerstrasse 11
CH-3027 Bern

info@wir-publizieren.ch

Instagram
Facebook

Image

Image - Ausstellung

Ausstellung

Ausgehend von unserer Sammlung an unabhängig Publiziertem möchten wir eine Ausstellung entwickeln. Uns beschäftigen dabei die Fragen, woran sich das gesteigerte Interesse an Gedrucktem in kleinen Auflagen oder an obskuren Netzwerken festmachen lässt und wie sich seit den 1960er Jahren Themen, Herangehensweisen, Ästhetik und Haltung beim unabhängigen Publizieren verändert haben (und warum).

Image

Image

Wir knüpfen an die Ausstellung «Unter dem Radar. Underground- und Selbstpublikationen 1965–1975» an, die 2015/16 in der Weserburg in Bremen gezeigt wurde und zu der 2017 eine umfangreiche Publikation im Verlag Spector Books erschienen ist. Die in der Publikation «Unter dem Radar» gezeigte Auswahl ist international, hat aber einen Schwerpunkt auf deutschen Publikationen. Aus der Schweiz sind mehrere Publikationen vertreten «Hotcha!» (Zürich, 1968–2008), «Starkherzpapiere» (Zürich, 1979) und «Whämmli!» (Basel ca. 1971). In der Ausstellung wurden zusätzlich «Experience – Zeitschrift für Musik und anderen Lärm» (Basel 1973–74) und «hapt Schwiiz» gezeigt.

Image

Image

Neben dem Projekt «Unter dem Radar» sind wir inspiriert von der Ausstellung «You’ve Got 1243 Unread Messages. The last generation before the internet?» die 2017/18 im Latvian Center for Contemporary Art gezeigt wurde. Diese beschäftigte sich mit Medien vor dem Internet, ihrer Materialität, ihrem Potential und ihren Grenzen. Die Ausstellung zeigte wie in Medien künstlerische, politische und persönliche Strategien mit ökonomischen und technischen (Macht-)Verhältnissen zusammentreffen. Sie machte verschiedene Momente fassbar, in denen auf dieser Grundlage jeweils spezifische Öffentlichkeiten geschaffen wurden. Öffentlichkeiten, die stets auch durch eine Auseinandersetzung um Handlungsmacht bestimmt sind und durch Fragen der In- und Exklusion.

Image

Image - Veranstaltungen

Veranstaltungen

«Für das Wissen, das mit dem Büchermachen und Verlegen verbunden ist, fehlt ein Ort, an dem es im Zusammenhang vermittelt wird. An Kunstakademien lehrt man die Gestaltung von Büchern; an Fachhochschulen für Buchhandel den Verkauf; in der Germanistik erfährt man, wie Texte zu editieren sind. Wo aber wird das Verlegen unterrichtet?»

Spector Books, Applied Publishing Studies, Sitterwerk, 10.5.2014

Wir Publizieren
Seminar in Geschichte der visuellen Kommunikation
Robert Lzicar

Wir setzen uns mit Inhalt, Form, Produktion und Vertrieb historischer Publikationen aus der Sammlung von «Wir Publizieren» auseinander. Dazu wählen Studierende eine der Publikationen aus, recherchieren historische Daten, Fakten und Zusammenhänge, entwickeln aus ihrem Interesse eine Fragestellung, beantworten diese in Form einer Geschichte und präsentieren sie als Beitrag zur Ausstellung in der Kunsthalle Bern Ende 2019 in Wort und Bild. Bereichert wird dieser Prozess durch Inputs und Diskussionen mit Gästen aus der Projektgruppe, Expert_innen und Zeitzeug_innen. Der Workshop soll ausserdem dazu beitragen heutige Formen von Selbstpublikationen kritisch zu überdenken und in einen grösseren historischen Zusammenhang einzuordnen, und so gestalterischer Nostalgie und unreflektierter Aneignung stilistischer Elemente entgegenwirken. 

HKB
Seminar im BA Visuelle Kommunikation
Frühlingssemester 2019

Image

Wir Publizieren
Archivbesuche, Gastvorträge, Diskussionen
Lucie Kolb

Im Fokus steht das gemeinsame, selbstorganisierte Publizieren von Magazinen. Ob in gedruckter Form oder digital, das Publizieren von Periodika ist immer eine kollektive Arbeit, denn es vereint unterschiedliche Kompetenzen wie Schreiben, Gestalten, Vertreiben und Herausgeben. Beim Publizieren wird nicht nur etwas öffentlich, es bilden sich auch Gruppen, es werden Bande geknüpft, Freunde und Feinde geschaffen. Das Magazin ist also nicht nur Ort für die Reproduktion von Bildern und Texten, sondern ein Ort der Produktion von Sozialem. In dieser Perspektive führt der Workshop in die Geschichte des Selbstpublizierens ein. Mit Schwerpunkt Bern schauen wir uns verschiedene Projekte an, die sich entschieden haben, ihre Inhalte selber in Umlauf zu bringen. Dafür machen wir Exkursionen und besuchen etwa das Archiv der Kunsthalle Bern und die Schweizerische Nationalbibliothek in denen sich Dokumente des Nonkonformismus, der Fluxus- und der Anti-Psychiatrie-Bewegung finden. Wir sichten gemeinsam Beispiele, lesen und diskutieren – sprechen aber auch mit Personen, die heute selber publizieren –, und fragen nach den Beweggründen und Visionen, die mit dieser Praxis verknüpft sind.

HKB
Y-Toolbox
15.-18.04.2019

Image

Image

Image - Sammlung

Sammlung

Die nun an der Hochschule der Künste Bern entstehende Sammlung umfasst die Bereiche der Kunst, Kultur, Politik und der sozialen Bewegungen, ist aber nicht darauf beschränkt. Im Fokus stehen Projekte, die im Eigenauftrag entstehen, in denen soziale Bande geschaffen werden, Verbindungen, Räume hervorgebracht werden, die das Kollektive begünstigen.

Die Magazine werden in der Mediothek gelagert, digital reproduziert und konserviert. Die Aufgabe einer Sammlung ist aber nicht passiv, sondern dynamisch. Die Sammlung schafft Kontext. Zu sammeln heisst also nicht nur Objekte zu besorgen, sondern bestehende Verknüpfungen zu erhalten und neue herzustellen, etwa zwischen Undergroundpublikationen, Magazinen von Künstler_innen, politischen Magazinen und post-digitalen Projekten.

Eine vorläufige Liste unserer Sammlung findet sich hier.

Image

Image - Personen

Personen

Franziska Bauer

ist Grafikdesignerin, Künstlerin, Selbstverlegerin und gender-queer Aktivistin. Sie ist Teil des multimedialen Kunstkollektivs ELAF, das im November 2018 in der Debatterie eine vierteilige Ausstellung von thealit/Bremen zum Thema Absage veranstaltete. ELAF ist Teil des Dynamic Archive Project, das im Sommer 2019 startet. Franziska Bauer ist auch Mitherausgeberin, Autorin und Grafikdesignerin des jährlich erscheinenden, selbstveröffentlichten, queer-feministischen maga_zine Purple Scare.

Lucie Kolb

ist Kunstwissenschaftlerin mit Promotion zu künstlerischen publizistischen Strategien seit den 1960er-Jahren. Sie arbeitet am Institut für Experimentelles Design und Medienkulturen Basel im vom Schweizerischen Nationalfonds (SNF) finanzierten Forschungsprojekt «Institutions as a Way of Life» zum Erbe von Institutionskritik. Daneben publiziert sie regelmässig zu Self-Publishing, Ausbildung und Kunstkritik, zuletzt erschien die Monographie «Studium, nicht Kritik» (transversal 2017). Sie ist Mitherausgeberin der Zeitschrift Brand-New-Life und Mitglied der Kunstkommission der Kultur Stadt Bern. 

Lara Kothe

studierte Grafikdesign mit dem Schwerpunkt Editorial Design und Typografie in Hamburg. Von ihr erschien 2016 das ausgezeichnete und weltweit mehrfach ausgestellte Buch «das Lethe-Kompendium» im Selbstverlag. In diesem fungierte sie sowohl als Herausgeberin als auch als Autorin, Künstlerin, Kuratorin und Grafikerin und widmete sich des Publizierens als künstlerische Praxis. Nach Aufenthalten in Amsterdam und Berlin arbeitet sie mittlerweile im Atelier der Hochschule der Künste Bern in der Schweiz. Seit 2017 studiert sie zudem die Vertiefung Design Research an der Hochschule der Künste Bern im Master Design, ist Associate Researcher im Forschungsprojekt «Swiss Graphic Design and Typography Revisited» und Researcher im Forschungsfeld Design History an der Hochschule der Künste Bern. 
www.larakothe.com

Robert Lzicar

ist Designer, Professor und Forscher. An der HKB unterrichtet er Designgeschichte, leitet den MA Design und koordiniert das Forschungsfeld Design History. Er organisierte das Symposium «Mapping Graphic Design History in Switzerland» (2014), gab eine gleichnamige Publikation mit Davide Fornari heraus (Triest, 2016) und koordiniert das vom Programm Sinergia des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds (SNF) finanzierte Forschungsprojekt «Swiss Graphic Design and Typography Revisited» (seit Oktober 2016).

Tine Melzer

hat in Amsterdam Bildende Kunst und Philosophie studiert, an der Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten ein Atelierstipendium erhalten und in England promoviert. Sie verbindet Sprachphilosophie mit visuellen Mitteln und macht Bücher im Selbstverlag. 2004–2009 Dozentin an der Gerrit Rietveld Academie Amsterdam, regelmässig Ausstellungen und Publikationen im In- und Ausland. Seit 2014 Dozentin an der Hochschule der Künste Bern (Y Institut, Gestaltung und Kunst: Fine Arts). www.tinemelzer.eu

Daniela Mirabella

arbeitet als selbstständige Grafikerin im Atelier Mirabella-Morganti in Zürich, hauptsächlich für Kunden aus dem Kultur- und dem Bildungsbereich. Sie unterrichtet im Departement Design an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste und ist dort im Museum für Gestaltung in der Grafiksammlung tätig. Seit 2017 studiert sie Design Research am HKB / MA Design.

Tania Prill

seit 2001 Partnerin des Studios «Prill Vieceli Cremers», ehemals «Prill&Vieceli» und realisierte Aufträge im Kulturbereich sowie selbst initiierte Buchprojekte wie «MONEY» (2015) und «Under the Radar - Underground Zines and Self-Publications 1965-1975» (2017). 2018 gründete sie ihr eigenes Studio und arbeitet mit verschiedenen Künstler_innen, Designer_innen und Netzwerken zusammen. Tania Prill unterrichtet an Universitäten im In- und Ausland. Sie war Professorin für Kommunikationsdesign an der Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe und seit 2010 Professorin für Typografie an der Hochschule der Künste Bremen, wo sie für das Archiv der freien Publikationen verantwortlich ist.

Rejane Salzmann

studiert an der School of Visual Combinations, MA Studio Integriertes Design HfK Bremen

Asli Serbest

entwickelt Projekte in verschiedenen Medien, um das sich entwickelnde Verhältnis zwischen Kunst, Architektur und Mediengesellschaft zu verhandeln. Sie gründete das Kollektiv m-a-u-s-e-r (zusammen mit Mona Mahall), das international ausstellt und veröffentlicht. Sie ist Herausgeberin von Junk Jet (seit 2007), einem unabhängigen Magazin für Kunst, Architektur und Medien. Asli Serbest arbeitet als Professorin an der HfK Bremen.

Studio Harris Blondman

ist das preisgekrönte Grafikdesignstudio von Harry Bloch und Joris Landman. Das schweizerisch-niederländische Studio verbindet klassisches Redaktions- und Designwissen mit New-Media-Expertise und kreativem Coding und arbeitet an der Spitze der grafischen Tradition und des digitalen Experiments. www.harrisblondman.nl

Andreas Vogel

ist Kunsthistoriker mit Promotion zum spätabsolutistischen Städtebau, Kurator, Kritiker, Text- und Kulturarbeiter. Tätigkeiten an verschiedenen Museen, darunter 1999/2000 als Kurator des Kunstvereins in Konstanz. Von 2001–2015 arbeitete er in verschiedenen Leitungsfunktionen an der F+F Schule für Kunst und Mediendesign in Zürich, ab 2011 als deren Rektor. Seit 2015 engagiert er sich in der Funktion des Fachbereichsleiters Gestaltung und Kunst an der HKB Hochschule der Künste Bern. Andreas Vogel war von 2006 bis 2014 Mitglied der Kunstkommission der Stadt Zürich, von 2013 bis 2018 Jurymitglied der Guggenheimstiftung und gehört seit 2016 dem Stiftungsrat der Berner Designstiftung an.

Image

Image

Image