Image - Call

Call

«We Publish» – a joint project of the Department of Design and Art of the Bern University of the Arts and the Department of Art and Design of the University of the Arts Bremen – deals with independent collaborative practices of publishing, duplication, and distribution. The project comprises a collection of independently published works since the 1960s with a focus on Switzerland, lectures on the history of radical publishing, on the problem of exhibiting publications, and a series of events and exhibitions on the subject.

This call aims to open the collection to those who wish to contribute to the history of independent publishing in Switzerland through personal, political, social or artistic publications. 

What do we seek?

Independent serial publication projects since the 1960s with a focus on Switzerland (all printing techniques, websites, mailing lists).

What will happen to them?

As many publications as possible will be digitally reproduced, made publicly accessible and searchable.

The physical publications can be included in the multi-media library at any time or returned at the end of the project.

The Department of Conservation and Restoration of the Bern University of the Arts can ensure the preservation of fragile and valuable publications.

A selection will be shown in an exhibition at the Kunsthalle Bern in December 2019.

How to submit

The publications can be delivered to the Bern University of the Arts, sent to us by e-mail or by post (any high shipping costs incurred can be paid after prior agreement).

Deadline

15 June 2019

Contact

Bern University of the Arts
studio
Lara Kothe
Fellerstrasse 11
CH-3027 Bern

info@wir-publizieren.ch

Image

Image - Exhibition

Exhibition

Based on our collection of independently published works, we would like to develop an exhibition. We are concerned here with the questions of how the increased interest in printed matter in small editions or obscure networks can be identified and how themes, approaches, aesthetics, and attitudes have changed in independent publishing since the 1960s (and why).

Image

Image

We are linking up with the exhibition «Unter dem Radar. Underground- und Selbstpublikationen 1965-1975», which was shown at the Weserburg in Bremen in 2015/16 and for which Spector Books published an extensive publication in 2017. The selection shown in the publication «Unter dem Radar» is international but has a focus on German publications. The publication includes several publications from Switzerland such as «Hotcha!» (Zurich, 1968-2008), «Starkherzpapiere» (Zurich, 1979) and «Whämmli!» (Basel ca. 1971). The exhibition also featured «Experience - Zeitschrift für Musik und anderen Lärm» (Basel 1973-74) and «hapt Schwiiz».

Image

Image

Besides the project «Under the Radar», we are inspired by the exhibition «You’ve Got 1243 Unread Messages. The last generation before the internet?» shown at the Latvian Center for Contemporary Art in 2017/18. It dealt with media in front of the Internet, their materiality, their potential, and their limits. The exhibition showed how artistic, political and personal strategies meet with economic and technical (power) relations in the media. It made it possible to grasp various moments in which specific public spheres were created on this basis. Public spheres are always determined by a confrontation with the power to act and by questions of inclusion and exclusion.

Image

Image - Events

Events

«There is no place for the dissemination of knowledge associated with bookmaking and publishing in context. Art academies teach the design of books; universities of applied sciences teach booksellers how to sell books; German studies teaches how to edit texts. But where is publishing taught?»

Spector Books, Applied Publishing Studies, Sitterwerk, 10.5.2014

We publish
Seminar in History of Visual Communication
Robert Lzicar

We deal with content, form, production, and distribution of historical publications from the collection of «Wir Publizieren.» Students select one of the magazines, research historical data, facts, and connections, develop a question out of their interest, answer it in the form of a story and present it in words and pictures as a contribution to the exhibition in the Kunsthalle Bern at the end of 2019. This process is enriched by inputs and discussions with guests from the project group, experts and contemporary witnesses. The workshop will also contribute to critically rethinking contemporary forms of self-publication and placing them in a broader historical context, thus counteracting creative nostalgia and unreflected appropriation of stylistic elements. 

BKB
Seminar at BA Visual Communication
Spring semester 2019

Image

We publish
Archive visits, guest lectures, discussions
Lucie Kolb

The focus is on the joint, self-organized publication of magazines. Whether in printed or digital form, the publication of periodicals is always a collective work because it combines different competencies such as writing, designing, distributing and publishing. Publishing not only makes something public, but it also forms groups, ties are established, friends and enemies are created. The magazine is therefore not just a place for the reproduction of images and texts, but also a place for the production of social things. From this perspective, the workshop introduces the history of self-publication. With a focus on Bern, we look at various projects that have decided to circulate their content themselves. To this end, we will make excursions and visit the archives of the Kunsthalle Bern and the Swiss National Library, for example, where documents from the nonconformism, Fluxus and anti-psychiatry movements can be found. We sift through cases together, read and discuss - but also talk to people who now publish themselves - and ask about the motivations and visions associated with this practice.

Bern University of the Arts
Y toolbox
15.-18.04.2019

Image

Image

Image - Collection

Collection

The collection now being created at the Bern University of the Arts covers the fields of art, culture, politics and social movements, but is not limited to them. The focus is on projects that are commissioned by artists, in which they create social bonds, connections, and spaces that promote the collective.

The magazines are stored in the media library, digitally reproduced and preserved. However, the task of a collection is not passive, but dynamic. The collection creates context. Assembling does not only mean procuring objects but also maintaining existing links and building new ones, for example between underground publications, magazines by artists, political magazines and post-digital projects. 

Find a preliminary list of our collection here.

Image

Image - People

People

Franziska Bauer

Graphic designer, artist, self-publisher and gender-queer activist. She is part of the multimedia art collective ELAF. Among others, they held a four-part exhibition at Debatterie by thealit/Bremen Nov 2018 with variations on the topic of abjection. They are part of the Dynamic Archive Project launching in Summer 2019. Franziska Bauer is also co-editor, writer and graphic designer of the annual self-published, queer-feminist maga_zine Purple Scare.

Lucie Kolb

An art historian with a doctorate in artistic publishing strategies since the 1960s. She works at the Institut für Experimentelles Design und Medienkulturen Basel in the research project «Institutions as a Way of Life» on the legacy of institutional critique, funded by the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNF). She also publishes regularly on self-publishing, education and art criticism, most recently the monograph «Study, Not Critique» (transversal 2018). She is co-editor of the magazine Brand-New-Life and a member of the Art Commission of the Culture City of Bern.

Lara Kothe

She studied graphic design with a focus on editorial design and typography in Hamburg. In 2016 she published the award-winning book «das Lethe-Kompendium», which has been exhibited several times worldwide. In this book, she acted as editor, author, artist, curator, and graphic artist and devoted herself to publishing as an artistic practice. After stays in Amsterdam and Berlin, she now works in the studio of the Hochschule der Künste Bern in Switzerland. Since 2017, she has also been studying Design Research at the Bern University of the Arts in Master Design, is an Associate Researcher in the research project «Swiss Graphic Design and Typography Revisited» and Researcher in the field of Design History at the Bern University of the Arts. 
www.larakothe.com

Robert Lzicar

Designer, professor, and researcher. He is based at the Bern University of the Arts HKB, where he teaches design history, directs the MA Design course, and coordinates the Research Field Design History. He organised the symposium «Mapping Graphic Design History in Switzerland» (2014), edited a publication of the same name with Davide Fornari (Triest, 2016), and is co-coordinating the research project «Swiss Graphic Design and Typography Revisited,» funded by the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) Sinergia programme (since October 2016).

Tine Melzer

She studied Fine Arts and Philosophy in Amsterdam, received a studio scholarship at the Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten, and earned her doctorate in England. She combines the philosophy of language with visual means and publishes her books. 2004-2009 lecturer at the Gerrit Rietveld Academie Amsterdam, regular exhibitions and publications at home and abroad. Since 2014 lecturer at the Hochschule der Künste Bern (Y Institute, Design, and Art: Fine Arts). www.tinemelzer.eu

Daniela Mirabella

She works as a freelance graphic designer at the Atelier Mirabella-Morganti in Zurich, mainly for clients from the cultural and educational sectors. She teaches in the Department of Design at the Zurich University of the Arts and works there in the Graphic Design Collection of the Museum of Design. She has been studying Design Research at the HKB / MA Design since 2017.

Tania Prill

Since 2001 she was the partner of the studio «Prill Vieceli Cremers», former «Prill&Vieceli» and realized commissions in the cultural sector as well as self-initiated book projects such as «MONEY» (2015) and «Under the Radar – Underground Zines and Self-Publications 1965–1975» (2017). 2018 she has started her studio and collaborated with different artists, designers, and networks. Tania Prill is teaching at universities in Switzerland and abroad. She was a professor of communication design at the Karlsruhe University of Art and Design and since 2010 is a professor of typography at the University of the Arts Bremen where she is in charge of the Archive of Independent Publishing.

Rejane Salzmann

studies at the School of Visual Combinations, MA Studio Integrated Design HfK Bremen

Asli Serbest

develops projects in various media to negotiate the evolving relationship between art, architecture and media society. She founded the collective m-a-u-s-e-r (together with Mona Mahall), which exhibits and publishes internationally. She is editor of Junk Jet (since 2007), an independent magazine for art, architecture, and media. Asli Serbest works as a professor at the HfK Bremen.

Studio Harris Blondman

is the award-winning graphic design studio of Harry Bloch and Joris Landman. The Swiss-Dutch studio combines classic editorial and design knowledge with new media expertise and creative coding and works at the cutting edge of graphic tradition and digital experiment. www.harrisblondman.nl

Andreas Vogel

An art historian with a doctorate in late-absolutist urban planning, curator, critic, text and cultural worker. Activities at various museums, including 1999/2000 as curator of the Kunstverein in Konstanz. From 2001-2015 he worked in different management positions at the F+F School for Art and Media Design in Zurich, from 2011 as its rector. Since 2015 he has been involved in the function of Head of the Department of Design and Art at the HKB Hochschule der Künste Bern. Andreas Vogel was a member of the Art Commission of the City of Zurich from 2006 to 2014, a member of the jury of the Guggenheim Foundation from 2013 to 2018 and has been a member of the Board of Trustees of the Bern Design Foundation since 2016.

Image

Image

Image

Image - Call

Call

«Nous Publions» – est un projet commun du Département de design et d’art de la Haute école des arts de Berne et du Département d’art et de design de l’Université des arts de Brême – qui traite des pratiques collaboratives indépendantes de publication, de duplication et de distribution. Le projet comprend une collection d’ouvrages publiés de manière indépendante depuis les années 1960 axés sur la Suisse, des conférences sur l’histoire de l’édition radicale et sur la problématique de l’exposition des publications ainsi qu’une série de manifestations et d’expositions sur ce thème.

Cet appel vise à ouvrir la collection à ceux qui souhaitent contribuer à l’histoire de l’édition indépendante en Suisse par des publications personnelles, politiques, sociales ou artistiques. 

Que cherchons-nous?

Des projets indépendants de publication en série depuis les années 1960 avec un accent particulier sur la Suisse (toutes les techniques d’impression, sites web, listes de diffusion).

Que va-t-il leur arriver?

Le plus grand nombre possible de publications seront reproduites sous forme numérique, rendues consultables et accessibles au public.

Les publications physiques pourront être incluses à tout moment dans la médiathèque ou retournées à la fin du projet.

Le Département de la conservation et de la restauration de la Haute école des arts de Berne pourra assurer la conservation de publications fragiles et précieuses.

Une sélection sera exposée à la Kunsthalle de Berne en décembre 2019.

Comment soumettre une demande

Les publications peuvent être livrées à la Haute école des arts de Berne, envoyées par e-mail ou par la poste (les frais de port élevés peuvent être payés après accord préalable).

Echéance

15 juin 2019

Contact

Haute école des arts de Berne
atelier
Lara Kothe
Fellerstrasse 11
CH-3027 Berne

info@wir-publizieren.ch

Image

Image - Exposition

Exposition

Sur la base de notre collection d’œuvres publiées par des éditeurs indépendants, nous aimerions développer une exposition. Il s’agit ici de savoir comment identifier l’intérêt croissant pour l’imprimé en petites éditions ou dans des réseaux obscurs et comment les sujets, les approches, l’esthétique et les attitudes ont changé dans l’édition indépendante depuis les années 1960 (et pourquoi).

Image

Image

Nous nous associons à l’exposition «Unter dem Radar. Underground- und Selbstpublikationen 1965–1975», présentée au Weserburg de Brême en 2015/16 et pour laquelle Spector Books a publié une importante publication en 2017. La sélection présentée dans la publication “Unter dem Radar” est internationale, mais se concentre sur les publications allemandes. Plusieurs publications de Suisse sont représentées «Hotcha!» (Zurich, 1968–2008), «Strong Heart Papers» (Zurich, 1979) et «Whämmli!» (Bâle env. 1971). L’exposition présentait également «Experience – Zeitschrift für Musik und anderen Lärm» (Bâle 1973–74) et «hapt Schwiiz».

Image

Image

Outre le projet «Under the Radar», nous nous inspirons de l’exposition «You’ve Got 1243 Unread Messages. The last generation before the internet», présentée au Centre letton d’art contemporain en 2017/18. Il traitait des médias face à Internet, de leur matérialité, de leur potentiel et de leurs limites. L’exposition a montré comment les stratégies artistiques, politiques et personnelles rencontrent les relations économiques et techniques (de pouvoir) dans les médias. Elle a permis de saisir les différents moments où des sphères publiques spécifiques ont été créées sur cette base. Les sphères publiques sont toujours déterminées par la confrontation avec le pouvoir d’agir et par les questions d’inclusion et d’exclusion.

Image

Image - Événements

Événements

«Il n’y a pas de place pour que les connaissances associées à la fabrication de livres et à l’édition soient transmises dans leur contexte. Les académies d’art enseignent la conception de livres; les écoles techniques de commerce du livre enseignent la vente; les études allemandes enseignent comment éditer des textes. Mais où enseigne-t-on l’édition?»

Spector Books, Études appliquées de l’édition, Sitterwerk, 10.5.2014

Nous publions
Séminaire en histoire de la communication visuelle
Robert Lzicar

Nous nous occupons du contenu, de la forme, de la production et de la distribution des publications historiques de la collection «Wir Publizieren». Les élèves choisissent l’un des magazines, recherchent des données historiques, des faits et des liens, développent une question à partir de leur intérêt, y répondent sous la forme d’une histoire et la présentent en mots et en images comme contribution à l’exposition à la Kunsthalle de Berne à la fin 2019. Ce processus est enrichi par des contributions et des discussions avec des invités du groupe de projet, des experts et des témoins contemporains. L’atelier contribuera également à repenser d’un œil critique les formes contemporaines d’auto-édition et à les replacer dans un contexte historique plus large, contrecarrant ainsi la nostalgie créatrice et l’appropriation non réfléchie des éléments stylistiques. 

BKB
Séminaire à la BA Communication visuelle
Semestre de printemps 2019

Image

Nous publions
Visites d’archives, conférences invitées, discussions
Lucie Kolb

L’accent est mis sur la publication conjointe et auto-organisée de magazines. Que ce soit sous forme imprimée ou numérique, la publication de périodiques est toujours un travail collectif parce qu’elle combine différentes compétences telles que la rédaction, la conception, la distribution et la publication. La publication non seulement rend quelque chose publique, mais elle forme aussi des groupes, des liens sont établis, des amis et des ennemis sont créés. Le magazine n’est donc pas seulement un lieu de reproduction d’images et de textes, mais aussi un lieu de production de choses sociales. De ce point de vue, l’atelier présente l’histoire de l’auto-édition. En mettant l’accent sur Berne, nous examinons différents projets qui ont décidé de faire circuler eux-mêmes leur contenu. Dans ce but, nous ferons des excursions et visiterons les archives de la Kunsthalle de Berne et de la Bibliothèque nationale suisse, par exemple, où l’on peut trouver des documents des mouvements anticonformiste, Fluxus et anti-psychiatrie. Nous passons en revue les cas ensemble, lisons et discutons - mais aussi discutons avec des personnes qui se publient maintenant – et posons des questions sur les motivations et les visions associées à cette pratique.

Haute école des arts de Berne
Boîte à outils Y
15.-18.04.2019

Image

Image

Image - Collection

Collection

La collection de la Hochschule der Künste Bern couvre les domaines de l’art, de la culture, de la politique et des mouvements sociaux, mais ne s’y limite pas. L’accent est mis sur les projets commandés par les artistes, dans lesquels ils créent des liens sociaux, des connexions et des espaces qui font la promotion du collectif.

Les magazines sont stockés dans la médiathèque, reproduits et conservés numériquement. Cependant, la tâche d’une collection n’est pas passive, mais dynamique. La collection crée un contexte. Assembler, ce n’est pas seulement se procurer des objets, c’est aussi entretenir les liens existants et en construire de nouveaux, par exemple entre les publications clandestines, les magazines d’artistes, les magazines politiques et les projets post-numériques. 

Vous trouverez une liste préliminaire de notre collection ici.

Image

Image - Personnes

Personnes

Franziska Bauer

Graphiste, artiste, auto-éditeur et activiste du genre queer. Elle fait partie du collectif d’art multimédia ELAF. Entre autres, ils ont organisé une exposition en quatre parties à Debatterie par thealit/Bremen en novembre 2018 avec des variations sur le thème de l’abjection. Ils font partie du projet Dynamic Archive qui sera lancé à l’été 2019. Franziska Bauer est également co-rédactrice, rédactrice et graphiste de la revue annuelle queer-féministe maga_zine Purple Scare.

Lucie Kolb

Historienne de l’art avec un doctorat en stratégies de publication artistique depuis les années 1960. Elle travaille à l’Institut für Experimentelles Design und Medienkulturen Basel dans le cadre du projet de recherche «Institutions as a Way of Life» sur l’héritage de la critique institutionnelle, financé par le Fonds national suisse (FNS). Elle publie aussi régulièrement des articles sur l’auto-édition, l’éducation et la critique d’art, dont le plus récent est la monographie «Study, Not Critique» (transversal 2018). Elle est co-éditrice de la revue Brand-New-Life et membre de la Commission des arts de la ville culturelle de Berne.

Lara Kothe

Elle a étudié le graphisme avec une spécialisation en design éditorial et typographie à Hambourg. En 2016, elle a publié le livre primé «das Lethe-Kompendium» a été exposé plusieurs fois dans le monde entier. Dans ce livre, elle a agi comme éditrice, auteure, artiste, conservatrice et graphiste et s’est consacrée à l’édition comme pratique artistique. Après des séjours à Amsterdam et Berlin, elle travaille maintenant dans l’atelier de la Hochschule der Künste Bern en Suisse. Depuis 2017, elle étudie également la recherche en design à la Haute école des arts de Berne en Master Design, est chercheuse associée dans le projet de recherche «Swiss Graphic Design and Typography Revisited» et chercheuse dans le domaine de l’histoire du design à la Haute école des arts de Berne. 
www.larakothe.com

Robert Lzicar

Concepteur, professeur et chercheur. Il est basé à la Haute Ecole des Arts de Berne HKB, où il enseigne l’histoire du design, dirige le cours de maîtrise en design et coordonne l’histoire de la recherche en design de terrain. Il a organisé le symposium «Mapping Graphic Design History in Switzerland» (2014), édité une publication du même nom avec Davide Fornari (Triest, 2016) et coordonne le projet de recherche «Swiss Graphic Design and Typography Revisited» financé par le programme Sinergia du Fonds national suisse (FNS) (depuis octobre 2016).

Tine Melzer

Elle a étudié les beaux-arts et la philosophie à Amsterdam, a reçu une bourse d’études à la Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten et a obtenu son doctorat en Angleterre. Elle combine la philosophie du langage avec des moyens visuels et publie ses livres. 2004-2009 Maître de conférences à la Gerrit Rietveld Academie d’Amsterdam, expositions et publications régulières en Allemagne et à l’étranger. Depuis 2014 chargé de cours à la Hochschule der Künste Bern (Institut Y, Design et Art : Beaux-Arts).
www.tinemelzer.eu

Daniela Mirabella

Elle travaille comme graphiste indépendante à l’Atelier Mirabella-Morganti à Zurich, principalement pour des clients des secteurs culturel et éducatif. Elle enseigne au département de design de la Haute école des arts de Zurich et y travaille dans la collection de design graphique du Musée du design. Elle étudie la recherche en design à la HKB / MA Design depuis 2017.

Tania Prill

Depuis 2001, elle est partenaire du studio «Prill Vieceli Cremers», anciennement «Prill&Vieceli» et a réalisé des commandes dans le secteur culturel ainsi que des projets de livres auto-initiés tels que «MONEY» (2015) et «Under the Radar - Underground Zines and Self-Publlications 1965-1975» (2017). 2018 elle a commencé son atelier et a collaboré avec différents artistes, designers et réseaux. Tania Prill enseigne dans des universités en Suisse et à l’étranger. Elle a été professeur de design de communication à l’Université d’art et de design de Karlsruhe et est depuis 2010 professeur de typographie à l’Université des Arts de Brême où elle est responsable des archives de l’édition indépendante.

Rejane Salzmann

études à l’Ecole des Combinaisons Visuelles, MA Studio Integrated Design HfK Bremen

Asli Serbest

développe des projets dans divers médias pour négocier l’évolution des relations entre l’art, l’architecture et la société des médias. Elle a fondé le collectif m-a-u-s-s-e-r (avec Mona Mahall), qui expose et publie au niveau international. Elle est rédactrice en chef de Junk Jet (depuis 2007), un magazine indépendant pour l’art, l’architecture et les médias. Asli Serbest est professeur à la HfK Brême.

Studio Harris Blondman

est le studio de graphisme primé de Harry Bloch et Joris Landman. Le studio helvético-néerlandais allie les connaissances classiques de la rédaction et du design à l’expertise des nouveaux médias et au codage créatif et travaille à la pointe de la tradition graphique et de l’expérience numérique. www.harrisblondman.nl

Andreas Vogel

Historien de l’art, docteur en urbanisme tardifabsolutiste, conservateur, critique, écrivain et travailleur culturel. Activités dans divers musées, dont 1999/2000 en tant que conservateur du Kunstverein de Constance. De 2001 à 2015, il a occupé différents postes de direction à la F+F School for Art and Media Design à Zurich, dont il sera le recteur à partir de 2011. Depuis 2015, il est responsable du département Design et Art de la HKB Hochschule der Künste Bern. Andreas Vogel a été membre de la Commission artistique de la ville de Zurich de 2006 à 2014, membre du jury de la Fondation Guggenheim de 2013 à 2018 et membre du Conseil de fondation de la Bern Design Foundation depuis 2016.

Image

Image

Image